A Happier Cow Milk Alternative

My inspiration comes and goes just like time; but when present it tends to hold my attention and drags me into very exciting places. I suppose I’ve been spending a lot of my free time thinking and dreaming about what the next day will unfold, though at times it distracts me from focusing on the present. How does a daydreamer turn off these constant thoughts? She doesn’t but instead she simply creates, and uses those thoughts as inspiration to get through the challenges that come her way.  There’s times when I feel like writing down my thoughts and then there are other times when I don’t. Most of the time my thoughts don’t make any sense when I finally see them on paper but that is no excuse to stop writing. Because my thoughts aren’t meant to impress anyone, I am writing what I care about and shouldn’t feel the need to please anyone through my own private thoughts. I can honestly say writing helps me move forward, appreciate what I have and accept new challenges as they arrive. If you don’t own a journal or have a blog, I strongly encourage you get one because it may do the same for you 🙂

Anyway, let’s move on to a more delicious topic like my obsession of goat dairy!

  1.  Goat’s Milk

These days I’m loving goat’s milk; not only does it taste fabulous in smoothies, coffee (full-fat goat’s milk works perfectly as a creamer) ,oatmeal and cereal, it’s a great source of calcium and protein. Like cow’s milk it  is high in calcium but because it contains anti-inflammatory compounds (ie: short-chain sugar molecules called oligo-saccharides. source found here) goat’s milk is much easier to digest. Because I don’t choose to eat only vegan alternatives (though I have no issues with vegan alternatives) I was open to trying goat’s milk. I was extremely pleased with the results and I didn’t feel bad but instead satisfied; I can honestly say after a few months of consuming goat milk products, I feel much stronger! I recommend giving goat’s milk a try if you’re lactose intolerant and bored of soy milk.

2. Redwood Hill Farm Yogurt

This yogurt is filling, satisfying and incredibly delicious; I love eating it with fresh fruit, in smoothies and eating alone with a generous sprinkle of chia seeds! My favorite flavors are plain, vanilla and if I’m in need of something sweet their Apricot & Mango flavor. Redwood Hill Farms also makes a line of cultured Kefir drinks which are wonderfully refreshing as a post-exercise snack!

3. Goat Cheese

Because I’m still experimenting with different brands I’m not sure which one is my go-to brand, just yet. I have not tried the Gouda (I still haven’t found it!) but, I am a fan of the cheddar, chevere cheese and crumbled cheese varieties. Goat cheddar cheeses are incredibly familiar to traditional cheddar and melts perfectly for grilled cheeses; the chevere cheese is soft and spreadable making it excellent for crackers, and also works well on pizza; and last but not least, the crumbled goat cheese has the same qualities as feta cheese making it a lovely topping for a Greek salad. Like regular cheeses goat cheese comes in many different varieties. Let’s just say this cow milk alternative has allowed me to eat cheeses, milk and yogurt again; which is something I never thought I would be able to do again.

These are only a small number of the things I’ve made with goat dairy, so please stay tuned!

-Jessica

Leave a Reply

