False Alarms and Sweet & Sour Shrimp

Some people shrug off minor illnesses such as headaches and fevers without the urge of rushing to the computer and clicking WebMD from their favorites. Unless of course… you’re me the Self Proclaimed Worrier or as my mother likes to call me the “hypochondriac.” It’s not so much that I’m afraid of becoming ill, it’s more along the lines of not knowing how or why I got sick that drives me bananas. Let’s rewind to Monday night when, I had been experiencing a really weird pain in my leg which caused me to limp. Tuesday the pain was still there and I could barely walk, and on Wednesday the sharp pain was still there but this time it was only present at night. Needless to say, the whole week went by and my left leg went through a sequence of different pains! It started with my lower back and ended on my knee. I refused to go to see my doctor because I wanted to make sure I wasn’t just “overreacting” which, I tend to do. I decided to wait it out and I rarely wait things out! But when Sunday morning came along, I decided to go to the Emergency Room. Which was surprisingly empty! After a million questions they came to the conclusion that it was just a minor muscle injury from wearing heels and standing at work for long periods only exacerbated the pain more. I’m a little embarrassed to admit this but, it all makes sense because the previous Saturday I had been walking for three hours heels. Anyway I spent my Sunday watching movies and wearing an icy-hot pack on my leg; injuries suck, eh?

On a much higher note, my sister and I made pineapple sweet and sour shrimp last night. It was incredible! (if we do say so ourselves)

Sweet and Sour Shrimp (feel free to use tofu, seitan, or any protein you wish)

sweet and sour sauce:

  • 2 tablespoons arrowroot
  • 1/4 cup vegetable broth
  • 1/4 cup low sodium soy sauce/tamari
  • 2 tablespoons unrefined sugar
  • 3 tablespoons vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon sriracha sauce

Mix ingredients in a small bowl and set aside.

Cooking the shrimp:

  • 16 ounces peeled raw shrimp
  • 1 tablespoon sesame oil

Heat sesame oil in a wok or large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add shrimp and cook shrimp until it is pink on both sides. Add sweet and sour mixture into pan with shrimp; allow the sauce to thicken for about 3 minutes. Place shrimp mixture in a bowl.

Putting it altogether:

  • 1 tablespoon safflower oil
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 green pepper, chopped
  • 1 carrot, julienne cut
  • 1 tablespoon minced fresh ginger
  • 2 cans of pineapple chunks

Heat safflower oil in pan over medium-high heat. Add onion, bell pepper, ginger, and pineapple to pan; saute for 2 minutes. Add shrimp mixture; heat through and serve over fragrant rice! Perhaps coconut rice? šŸ™‚

3 thoughts on “False Alarms and Sweet & Sour Shrimp

  1. This made me chuckle because you and I are oh-so similar! I do the same thing and refuse to go to the dr’s because I don’t wanna overreact. The other day while I waiting in Urgent Care, this guy comes out and his mom was waiting for him (and we are talking, this guy was like 30 something still living in mom’s basement, sort of situation), and he says, “Well, it’s not a stroke or any problem like that. He says that the eye spasm is just from being tired and stressed.” HAHAHA. The guy went to freaking urgent care because his eye was twitching. At least we are not *that* guy šŸ™‚ xo

    • Haha, my family is always making fun of me for diagnosing for myself with different illnesses; so, I was surprised when they were nagging me to see a doctor! Wow, that’s pretty funny and I wish I was there to see the doctor’s reaction LOL.

Leave a Reply

