banana bread or doughnuts? you decide.

One thing you should know about me is that I love bananas and this love developed sometime last year when bananas were the only fruit I could eat. In case you guys don’t know I have Ulcerative Colitis which is an irritable bowel disease that I was diagnosed with in March. While recovering I had to eat a very low fiber/residue diet which was difficult for me… But, that’s another story that I’m still figuring out how to share with you. Back to bananas… I can’t get enough of the natural sweetness that banana’s add to my smoothies and oatmeal. Mmm!

I decided to sacrifice three delicious bananas and bake a banana bread. Ok, I didn’t bake bread… I baked doughnuts! (I know I’m a little obsessed…)

Banana Bread Doughnuts

Adapted from “The Joy of Vegan Baking”

makes a dozen doughnuts or muffins

  • 2 cups whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1 & ½ teaspoon baking soda
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 2/3 cup agave
  • 1/3 cup coconut or canola oil
  • 3 very ripe bananas, mashed
  • ¼ cup water
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • Optional: 1 cup dark chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Lightly grease or spray doughnut tray.

In a medium bowl mix flour, salt, and baking soda. In a large bowl beat the agave and the oil. Then add the mashed banana and chocolate chips. Stir in water and vanilla until everything is incorporated. Add flour and stir until everything is mixed nicely!

Fill six of the doughnut molds and bake for about 12 minutes or until they are golden brown. Use a toothpick just to be sure! Repeat until the batter is gone. Devour with a hot beverage or maybe eat them for…breakfast?

-Jeffie

2 thoughts on “banana bread or doughnuts? you decide.

Leave a Reply

