my recommendations

I hate pointing fingers and sounding like a judgmental health freak; but a number of people my age could care less about the food they put in their bodies and that worries me tremendously. I hope they somehow stumble upon this post and understand how easy (and exciting!) eating healthily really is. I’m not going to tell you about the food pyramid or something like “junk food is the devil”, or how you should eat. I’m simply recommending one thing today and that is to:

 eat breakfast.

A recommendation that I cannot stress enough! Being a college student demands energy and concentration so eating breakfast is a must. I want to say an unhealthy breakfast is better than no breakfast but the truth of the matter is that both aren’t good.  Here are some examples of breakfasts to I would avoid:

  1. Coffee. No, I don’t mean coffee and (insert breakfast here). (Because I love my coffee in the morning!) I mean coffee all by it’s lonesome self. With or without cream it’s still not a substantial breakfast. Yes, coffee has antioxidants but how can someone survive in the morning with just a cup of coffee?
  2. Bagels. Don’t get me wrong they’re awfully delicious but it’s very rare you’ll see me eating a bagel for breakfast. A bagel without cream cheese packs over 300 calories and provide very little nutrients; not to mention they make me feel bloated and heavy! If you really love bagels you should try Thomas’ bagel thins they’re awesome!
  3. Doughnuts.  I shouldn’t really have to explain this one… I’ve never reached for a doughnut for breakfast because last time I checked they were a dessert!  The amount of sugar will load you with energy and by mid-morning you’ll most likely crash. Ouch. Psst! If you really love the idea eating doughnuts for breakfast I recommend the wilton doughnut tray! You can use any muffin recipe that’s low in sugar and add nuts, dried fruit, with whole grain flour which make for a lovely breakfast!
  4. Store-bought cereal bars. I don’t like them because most of these “natural” granola bars have a very lengthy ingredients list and are loaded with sugar and saturated fat!  Also known as empty calories. Unless it’s a Lara bar or natural fruit & nut; you’re better off making your own. (I’ll post my favorite recipes soon!)
  5. Anything the word “mc” in front of it. I’m sorry if this hits close to home but if you have no choice I recommend their oatmeal with all the toppings on the side.

A good breakfast is essentially healthy fats, complex carbohydrates, and protein that will not only keep you fuller longer but will increase your energy.  Here are some ideas to consider:

 

  • Oatmeal. Everyone obsesses over oats at my house… It’s something I love so much because not only is it high in fiber it’s so versatile. I have numerous variations that I’ll share with everyone once I establish a recipe page. Stay tuned :)!
  • Waffles with fruit and nut butter. You can either make them yourself  or if you are like me and don’t have a waffle iron I recommend: Vans and Kashi’s frozen waffles! Spread waffle with 1-2 tablespoons of nut butter of choice, place some sliced fruit on top, and if you love maple syrup (like me!) pour some on the top.
  • Banana and almond butter quesadilla.  A cooler take on the old “whole grain toast and peanut butter” breakfast. Take a whole wheat tortilla and spread with almond butter, sliced bananas, and sprinkle with cinnamon. Fold and put on a nonstick skillet for 2 minutes on each side or until the tortilla is nicely browned! (Or just put it in the microwave for 15 seconds)
  • Whole grain cereal with milk and sliced fruit!
  • Eggs. (However you like ‘em!) They’re loaded with very wonderful things like protein and omega 3’s. Oh and a little birdy told me that when you eat the whole egg with some veggies it will keep you full longer! So, don’t skimp on the fat!
  • Scrambled tofu. A very good alternative for vegans and people with food allergies who crave a more savory breakfast.
  • Smoothies.  All you need is frozen fruit, Greek yogurt or non-dairy milk, and chia seeds. Add a handful of spinach for some extra nutrients; you’ll never taste the difference!

Breakfast on Sunday Mornings: pancakes, french toast, home fries, and all that great stuff!

There is really no art of eating breakfast and you could even get away with eating leftovers from last night’s dinner which I’m assuming wasn’t pizza? Unless you’re into that sort of thing! Or if you’re in a rush grab a container of yogurt (Greek is my fave!) and a fruit. Breakfast should be satisfying, nutritious, and most importantly delicious! Now tell me… What did you eat for breakfast? 😉

2 thoughts on “my recommendations

  1. Pingback: banana bread or doughnuts? you decide. « Healthier, Happier, Jeffie.

Leave a Reply

