Summer is ending with a cacaonut smoothie.

Happy Wednesday!

This week is already half-way through the finish line pretty soon Labor Day will pass by and it will time for school. ( I’ll summarize my summer in another post. ) Unfortunately a lot of my friends have already started school and  were not given the mercy of a couple more weeks of vacation. I know this sounds weird but I am a little jealous because I think summer is getting really played out. I’m ready to go back, finish, and start my life. Ah!

In other news, there was a tiny earthquake yesterday afternoon. I was outside and actually found out about it through; you guessed it, facebook statuses. Well, I found out through my mom first because she called to see if I was okay. I was probably in my own world while it occurred like most monumental moments in life such as: The Royal Wedding; all I know is that she wore a beautiful dress that resembled the lovely Grace Kelly. Anyway! I started working on Monday at a little store called “Zara.” So far it’s been quite slow and I seriously forgot how much working retail kills your feet! My coworkers are all very easygoing, the customers are civilized, and both of the managers are sweethearts and that’s a huge upgrade from my previous job. I guess having bad job experiences allow you to really appreciate the good ones in life.

Today, I woke up this morning and made a delicious smoothie concoction that was definitely worth sharing. I like to call it Cacao-nut delight. (I’m not good with names on the spot! I’ll come up with something better later…)

You’ll need:

2 frozen ripe bananas (I usually slice my bananas, put them in a Ziploc bag, and place them in my freezer the night before.)

1 ¼ cup non-dairy milk (ie: soy, hemp, almond, coconut milk)

¼ cup plain Greek yogurt*

2 tablespoons ground flaxmeal

1 ½ tablespoons coconut oil

2 tablespoons cacao powder (unsweetened cocoa powder works too)

Optional: 1 tablespoon liquid sweetener (ie: agave, raw honey, or maple syrup)

Place all ingredients in high-speed blender and blend until smooth. This smoothie makes two generous servings and is a perfect post workout snack. *Vegans can use non-dairy yogurt. I recommend So Delicious Cultured Coconut Milk Yogurt to enhance the coconut flavor. Enjoy lovelies! :]

Leave a Reply

