My First Vegan French Toast

I’ve been craving french toast for awhile now and it’s one thing I have never tried vegan. Since I’ve been lactose intolerant (this includes eggs also) I have been eating oatmeal and smoothies almost every morning. Which is okay considering eggs give me the heebie jeebies! This recipe was adapted from Oh She Glows. The authenticity of this french toast was so outstanding that I think it’s worth sharing!

You will need:

  • six slices of bread (the thick & stale end pieces work perfectly)
  • 1 cup non-dairy milk
  • 2 tablespoons silken tofu
  • 1 tablespoon brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • lil dash of nutmeg

Place all the ingredients in the blender (just not the bread hahaha!) and blend until smooth. Preheat a medium sized skillet and spray with non-stick spray. Dip slices of bread into yummy mixture and then place on skillet. Cook both sides until browned. The recipe is basic which makes the opportunities of adding toppings endless! Fresh fruit & maple syrup is my usual standby; though nut butters would taste yummy too 🙂

Serves 2-3

Leave a Reply

